Kris Menace releases 'Idiosyncrasies' (Compuphonic / Newstate)

Famed for his Italo disco-inspired tracks, Menace's debut single Discopolis became one of the biggest dance tunes of 2005, a bona fide Ibiza anthem that got picked up by Defected Records and helped lay the groundwork for Kris to become one of the hottest names in the scene.

Kris Menace 'Discopolis' (YSI)

Kris launched the label Compuphonic as a vehicle for his own productions and with this Menace's popularity continued to grow with tracks such as Voyage, Fairlight, Steamroller and Jupiter - the latter becoming one of Beatport's biggest downloads in 2006. He also began DJing with friend and legendary producer in his own right Alan Braxe, leading to the collaboration single Lumberjack released on Vulture Music in June 2007 (featured on this release). Kris is also the label owner of house label Work It Baby where he has nurtured the careers of Fred Falke, Patrick Alavi, Lifelike and Serge Santiago.

2009 looks set to be Menace's biggest year to date, starting with the release of his debut album, Idiosyncrasies. A triple disc collection of classic tracks interspersed with fresh new productions, collaborations and remixes; this release single-handedly proves a capsule-like answer why Menace has made such a big impact in the electronic scene to date.

CD1 opens up with the iconic Discopolis (with Lifelike) and features brand new tracks including Idiosyncrasy and next single Metropolis that clearly show Menace's ability to produce sharp, modern records that are flavoured with retro synth riffs and drum patterns. Classic back-catalogue tracks Jupiter and Voyage show off a spacey, tech-funk vibe while collaborations come from the likes of Hexstatic for the frantic re-edit of Invaders, house legend Felix Da Housecat for Artificial and Kris takes on a classic from dance pioneers Spooky and the results are the sublime Stereophonic. The first disc finishes with the current club destroyer Scaler that has everyone from Soulwax and Erol Alkan through to Style Of Eye and A-Trak saying claiming it's one of their biggest tunes.

CD2 eases in with the chilled Sensuality and follows with more atmospheric slices of electronica including Micropacer and Borderline that both share a blissful, warm ambience. Affinity and Lightning pick up the tempo for some more retro tech vibes and collaborations come from Douze for the sultry Challenger and Fred Falke joins Menace for Enamoured and Electricity.

CD3 showcases why Kris Menace is one of the most in-demand remixer's today, including re-rubs for DFA kings LCD Soundsystem, Everything But The Girl famed Tracey Thorn, Roisin Murphy, French electronica act Air, Metronomy and Robbie Williams.

Kris Menace - Idiosyncrasies - Tracklisting

Disc 1
01: Discopolis (w/ Lifelike)
02: Fairlight pt.1 & pt.2 (w/Fred Falke)
03: Jupiter
04: Lumberjack (w/ Alan Braxe)
05: Artificial (w/ Felix Da Housecat)
06: Stereophonic (w/ Spooky)
07: Voyage
08: Metropolis
09: Invaders (w/ Hexstatic)
10: Idiosyncrasy
11: Steamroller
12: Snapshot
13: Scaler

Disc 2:
01: Sensuality
02: Micropacer
03: Borderline
04: Affinity
05: Poesie
06: Lightning
07: Challenger (w/ Douze)
08: Midnight
09: Dreamsequence
10: Enamoured (w / Fred Falke)
11: Cybernatic
12: Vanity
13: Electricity (w/ Fred Falke)

Disc 3:
01: LCD Soundsystem - North American Scum Remix
02: Tracey Thorn - It's All True Remix
03: Roisin Murphy - Overpowered Remix
04: Air - Mer Du Japon Remix
05: Winona - Without You Remix
06: The Presets - My People Remix
07: Robbie Williams - She's Madonna Remix
08: Felix Da Housecat - Something 4 Porno Remix
09: Metronomy - Heartbreaker Remix
10: Moby - Oh Yeah Remix
11: Underworld - Ring Road Remix

Kris Menace Website

No comments: